Evolution vs. Creationism?

Evolution vs. Creationism?

I was reading the religious section of the Huffington Post, browsing for something to inspire or anger or enlighten me. I found this gem-

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/07/23/evolution-god_n_3640658.html?utm_hp_ref=religion

It says in this article, that only 21% of the people in the U.S. think that humans evolved without divine intervention. Hmmmm. Not really surprising since this is a predominately Christian (or religious in some way) country.

What struck me was a couple of things. Firstly, 37% of people think that God created humans in their present form. Really? REALLY?? Come on! There is so much evidence to the contrary! I can’t imagine the amount of time and energy it must take to stick your head that deeply into the sand. Willful ignorance is the most irritating thing I can think of.

Secondly, 40% of people favor teaching creationism in our schools, and 29% were unsure how they felt about that. This is really disturbing to me. Even now, as I am systematically questioning everything that I have ever thought to be true, as I am questioning my life, my society, my faith, my upbringing- even now I can say absolutely that creationism should NOT be taught in schools.

My reason should be obvious, but just in case it isn’t let me spell it out. Public schools are entities that are funded by the government with money from everyone’s pockets. They are not a platform to spread any kind of pseudo-scientific information or agenda which cannot be proven… which is why it would be pseudo-science.

Even as a person who believed in God, I never believed in creationism. And intelligent design should stay out of schools too, because really, it is no better.

Tim Minchin (yes, I am a bit obsessed with him right now) said it so well- “Their defense is always, ‘But evolution is only a theory!’ Which is true. I mean, it is a theory. And it’s good, you know, that they say that. Because it gives you hope that they may feel the same way about the theory of gravity and they might just float the fuck away.”

10 thoughts on “Evolution vs. Creationism?

  1. “They are not a platform to spread any kind of pseudo-scientific information or agenda which cannot be proven”

    Do you some how ‘believe” that students should only learn in scientific terms? Wouldn’t that go against evolution since “belief” in God is an advance part of evolution technically.

    • Thank you for the comment, I wrote this pretty quickly with very little editing, so I am sure it doesn’t read very clearly. I am not sure what you mean by “learn in scientific terms”, but I would assume you mean learning about facts that have been proven through the use of the scientific method. In which case, yes, I do think that is the kind of science my children should be learning in public schools.

      Is religion considered an advance in the evolution of the human race? I was not aware of that, and the idea seems counterintuitive in some ways. Religion requires faith in something that cannot be proven. And as the human race and our knowledge has evolved (especially in the past 2000 years) there have been many advances in our understanding of the universe. If religion required me to ignore those facts and that information, then it would not be advancing my evolution as a person or the evolution of humanity.

      • IMO, science is merely a discipline of discovery, observing only what you can hear, see, smell, taste, touch. It however cannot completely explain life because of that limitation. Even in science it has been “discovered” that just because you can’t hear, see, smell, taste or touch something does not mean it doesn’t exist. Evolution is a process that science states takes millions of years to develop, that would make belief apart of a long lineage of evolution not a going backward but forward. Like words that we use to communicate, there are many limitations…There are things that words (like science) simply cannot explain….So when I tell you I know there is a God and the Holy Spirit is real…..you immediately say what proof do I have???…. I tell you its like when you love someone….you just know….you don’t know how you know but you do with every atom in your body…. religion doesn’t expect you to ignore facts but rather to grow in faith….I know that’s hard for some because you have to be connected to the spirit world to even understand what it means to have real faith…..you can’t find it in a book nor science… science is man made to better understand the environment we live, to give our existence a form of meaning that we can understand and use but at the end science points to no meaning at all, just randomness that’s make no distinction of good of bad or consciousness. IMO, that’s a lot of information, and research to come up with nothing…..One of Lucifer’s greatest tricks is to fool everyone to believe he does not exists and there is no reason to believe in a God….As far as kids learning I believe they should be given all information that man has acquired over the centuries and allow them to make their own decision as to what they believe…. If science is so absolute why would it be so intimated by religion or those who believe in God?

  2. I don’t have all the answers for every question or argument you raise in respect of science and the lack of evidence in respect of a God. But Newton’s third law – ‘for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction’ – suggests to me that for every argument that you raise against God’s existence… there must be an equal and opposite argument suggesting that God does indeed exist. Perhaps the only thing left to do is to choose what you believe in rather than discredit what you don’t believe in?

    • I think it’s interesting the way you said that- “choose what you believe in”. That is sort of what i am doing I guess, but it is less about making a choice and more about trying to understand why I believed in the first place, and if I still do. The way I view my faith right now is that there is so little of it left that aligns with any religion, that I am not sure I have any left at all. And I do not seek to discredit anyone else’s beliefs. This is a painful and confusing process, I don’t wish it on anyone. But I know for sure, that I don’t want to do this in a hurried or easy way, I want to closely examine myself and my world and my faith, and when I feel that I have enough information then I will “make a choice”. I am just not there yet.

      • I understand that you are assessing with a view to making a choice and also the impact that this will have on those around you if you choose to tell them, and also on yourself, if you choose not to.
        My reference to Newton’s law and the following comments were food for thought. If you are in the process of ‘choosing’ then I was suggesting some balance. If you argue against the existence of God, what arguments do you have for His existence?

      • Well, that’s the ten thousand dollar question isn’t it? What argument do I have for God’s existence? More than that, what argument does anyone have for God’s existence? I mean, if we have to take something on faith then any argument for it being real is at best highly subjective and mostly (or all) opinion. The reason I am going through this process is because I have “lost faith” or whatever we want to call it. So I have been “seeking wise council” as it is called in church. I feel compelled to assure you, despite what I may choose to write about I am doing my best to see both sides of the argument and I take every comment here seriously. Because right now, today, while I sit here eating birthday cake, I have no argument for God’s existence. None. But I am hoping that people will continue to challenge me to think more deeply about it. Thank you for commenting!

    • I think this is why science and religion are always at odds. Science is about knowing things and discerning facts about reality. It doesn’t require belief. I don’t have to “choose” to believe in newton’s third law, because there’s physical evidence for it anymore than I don’t have to “choose” to believe that 2+2=4. I can’t tell you how many people say to me, “Oh science is your religion!” And it endlessly frustrates me. Science does not require faith or belief, unlike religion.

      • Thanks for the comment! I do agree, science is nothing like faith. And believing a scientific fact is not act of faith. That irritates me, too. I have heard people say that atheists “believe in science” and my thought was, “um, no, they believe what has been proven to be true.” That is where my questions about faith start. Can I believe that something is truth when it cannot be proven? I just don’t know anymore.

      • Well it sounds like you’re asking a lot of the right questions. Whether you rediscover some sort of faith or not, I’m just glad to see that there are people out there who would still apply critical thinking skills to these kinds of quandaries.

Leave a Reply

